La communauté de femmes d’Hunsrück

Lorsque mon avion s’est posé à l’aéroport de Francfort, je ne m’attendais pas à découvrir la fantastique histoire qui entourait ce lieu, l’endroit où se tiendrait la dernière édition du Festival de Musique de Femmes de Hunsrück les 24, 25 et 26 juillet, l’une des étapes de la Caravane Féministe organisée par les femmes et groupes de femmes, avec le collectif d’organisation de la MMF en Allemagne.

Astrid est venue me chercher à l’aéroport et m’a emmené chez elle. C’était une communauté de femmes appelée Kludenbach, où elles vivent depuis déjà 15 ans.

P1150136Elles m’ont raconté que c’est leur participation active dans le mouvement de la paix en Allemagne qui les avait amené à Hunsrück, un grand mouvement de résistance contre la course à l’armement, pendant la guerre froide, dans un contexte de division entre la République Fédérale d’Allemagne (à l’ouest) et la République Démocratique d’Allemagne (à l’est).

Plus tard, Ulrike nous expliquera qu’en fait c’est à Hunsrück que fut installée l’une des bases militaires de l’armée états-unienne avec un arsenal de bombes et de missiles. C’était un lieu où les mouvements de la paix en Allemagne se rassemblaient souvent pour des manifestations, des veillées et des actions directes. Dans ce contexte, des femmes et des lesbiennes campaient à côté de la base militaire pendant l’été, arrivant parfois à rassembler 100 femmes dans le Campement de Résistance des Femmes, en non-mixité. Elles ont gardé ce campement pendant 11 ans, vivant en communauté pendant quelques semaines les unes après les autres.

Le Mouvement de la Paix d’Hunsrück avec les Campements de Résistance de femmes pendant la guerre froide, des espaces non-mixtes ont eut lieu chaque été pendant 11 ans (“Banner Todesland soll Lebensland werden”). Les femmes dans ces campements étaient surtout des féministes radicales, et les garçons de plus de 12 ans n’étaient pas autorisés à entrer.

Astrid et les autres ont vécu à Kludenbach pendant 15 ans. Le premier collectif de femmes/lesbiennes qui s’organisa à partir des campements étaient il y a 30 ans. Le Campement de Résistance des Femmes étaient le seul campement d’Hunsrück, tandis que les groupes mixtes réalisaient plutôt des manifestations, veillées, etc.

Nous avons pu visiter deux expositions au Musée de l’Histoire de Hunsrück, guidé par Maria : l’un à propos des caves de Ruth Heckler, et une autre à propos du mouvement de paix contre les missiles de croisière. Quelques citations mémorables :

“Elles ont coupé les barrières et ont organisé une fête jusqu’à ce que la police arrive.” (été 1983)

“Elles (les militantes féministes radicales des campements) envahissaient la base et peignaient des choses à l’intérieur.”

Carolina Moreira

One thought on “La communauté de femmes d’Hunsrück

  1. Inge

    Hi Carolina,, it was so so great to get to know you. Thank you for writing this little review of your visit with all the information on the background of our community. I hope you are well and there will be a chance to meet again. Love, Inge

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hunsrück women community

Fem Van   Wednesday October 14th, 2015   1 Comment on Hunsrück women community

When I landed in the Frankfurt Han airport I wasn’t expecting to discover the fantastic HERstory that surrounded that place, where the last edition of the Women’s Music Festival would take place on 24, 25 and 26th of July, as one of the Caravan stopovers organized by women and women groups, along with the German national coordination of the World March of Women.

Astrid came to take me from the airport and brought me to her place. It was an only women community named Kludenbach, where they have been living for 15 years now. P1150136

They told me that what brought them to Hunsrück was their active participation on the resistance peace movement in Germany against the arms race, during the Cold War in a context of division between the Federal Republic of Germany (West) and the German Democratic Republic (East).

Later on, Ulrike would explain us that, in fact, there, in Hunsrück, was settled one of the US military bases with an arsenal of bombs and missiles. It was a point where peace movements (mixed groups) from Germany concentrated frequently for protests, vigils and direct actions. In this context, women and lesbians were camping next to the military base during summers – sometimes achieving a participation of 100 women only in one camp in Hunsrück: the Women´s Resistance Camp. They kept this camp for 11 years, living in community for several weeks in a row.

Hunsrück Peace Movement: Women Resistance camps during the Cold War, only-women spaces held during summertime for 11 years (“Banner Todesland soll Lebensland werden”). The women in these camps were mainly radical feminists, and boys above 12 years old were not allowed.

Astrid and the others have lived in Kludenbach for about 15 years. The first women/lesbian collective that came out of the camp was about 30 years ago, with different women in a different place. There was only one camp in Hunsrück, the Women´s Resistance Camp. Mixed groups did actions like demonstrations, religious services, vigils etc.

We had the chance to visit two exhibitions in the Museum of History of the Hunsrück area, guided by Maria: one about caves by Ruth Hecker, and another about the “peace movement” against the cruise missiles. Some memorable quotes:

They cut the fences and made a party inside until the police came” (summer 1983)

They (women radical feminist camps) were invading the base and painting things inside.”

Carolina Moreira

One thought on “Hunsrück women community

  1. Inge

    Hi Carolina,, it was so so great to get to know you. Thank you for writing this little review of your visit with all the information on the background of our community. I hope you are well and there will be a chance to meet again. Love, Inge

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *